FANDOM


E3 2013 was a video game show held between June 11 through June 13, 2013 in the Los Angeles Convention Center.

The main highlights included details of two major next-generation consoles, Microsoft's Xbox One and Sony's PlayStation 4.

Press conferences

Konami, Microsoft, Electronic Arts, Ubisoft, and Sony all hosted press conferences during the conference. However, Nintendo took a different approach by holding no traditional press conference. Instead, Nintendo held "a few smaller events that are specifically focused on our software lineup", and aired a special episode of Nintendo Direct to focus on upcoming U.S. releases and new game unveilings.

Konami

Konami held their 3rd annual pre-E3 show on on June 6, 2013. The presentation showcased the company's 40th anniversary and its Dance Dance Revolution: Classroom Edition intiative, before providing updates on upcoming game releases. This included the games Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2, Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 and Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

Microsoft

Microsoft's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 9:30am PT (12:30pm ET). The company announced a November 2013 release date for its forthcoming Xbox One console, priced at US$499. The software lineup was also revealed, including Dead Rising 3, Ryse: Son of Rome and the next installment of Halo.

Controversy arose during Microsoft's showcase of Killer Instinct when an apparent reference to rape was made between the on-stage demonstrators. Microsoft later apologized for the incident and stated that the remarks were not scripted. The overall reception for the Microsoft press conference was mixed; many critics praised the software lineup but expressed disappointment with Microsoft lacking to address the used games and always-online issues at the time.

Electronic Arts

Electronic Arts' press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 1pm PT (4pm ET). Among the new titles shown were the racing game Need for Speed: Rivals and the first-person shooters Battlefield 4 and Titanfall. EA Sports announced a number of new releases, such as Madden NFL 25, NBA Live 14, FIFA 14, NHL 14 and EA Sports UFC.

Ubisoft

Ubisoft's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 3pm PT (6pm ET). Upcoming action-adventure games included Watch Dogs and the sequels Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist. Two new franchises – The Crew and The Division – were also announced.

Sony

Sony's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 6pm PT (9pm ET). The PlayStation 4 was publicly shown for the first time, retailing at US$399. The software lineup included Infamous: Second Son, The Order: 1886 and Killzone: Shadow Fall. There were also new games introduced for the PlayStation 3, such as Gran Turismo 6, Beyond: Two Souls and The Last of Us.

Nintendo

The E3 edition of Nintendo Direct aired at June 11, 2013 at 7am PT (10am ET). Nintendo first showed a new trailer for the Nintendo 3DS titles Pokémon X and Y, including the announcement of a new Pokémon type, Fairy Type. After that, Nintendo focused mostly on showing upcoming Wii U titles. Nintendo showed some of the third-party and digital titles coming to the Wii U, and more about previously announced games such as X, The Wonderful 101, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, and the first gameplay footage of Bayonetta 2. Among the new games announced for Wii U were a new installment of Super Smash Bros., Super Mario 3D World, and Mario Kart 8.